In the grasp? WTF?

  • Welcome to America's Finest Sports Forum and Podcast!

    afsportsforum.com is one of the largest online communities covering San Diego sports. We host a regular podcast during the major seasons. You are currently viewing our community forums as a guest user.

    Sign Up or

    Having an account grants you additional privileges, such as creating and participating in discussions. Furthermore, we hide most of the ads once you register as a member!

exodus

Well-Known Member
Nov 4, 2005
1,282
118
200
That stupid rule cost us 2 forced turnovers. Can someone please explain this stupid rule to me? If, for some reason, Ben managed to complete 2 passes while "in the grasp" do those count as incompletions? How are we supposed to force the qb to fumble while we're sacking him? This is bs. :icon_evil:
 

mapcap55

BoltTalker
Aug 21, 2006
588
66
140
51
It's a bad call, Blow the whistle or the play is not dead. It's as simple as that.
 

exodus

Well-Known Member
Nov 4, 2005
1,282
118
200
mapcap55 said:
It's a bad call, Blow the whistle or the play is not dead. It's as simple as that.
no whistle, they let the play go, and then they just take away our forced fumbles??? This is bad like that weird tuck rule. But they did it TWICE! And they didn't just blow the call twice, they wouldn't even put it under review. It's infuriating.
 

Electric Chair

Well-Known Member
May 23, 2006
8,437
563
350
You would think that the NFL would try not to look like they are calling the game in the favor of the Steelers after the Super Bowl debacle.
 

Boltdiehard

Well-Known Member
Jan 5, 2006
4,805
1,007
340
I agree and we were going insane last night watching that crap. :tdown: :icon_evil:
 

AnteaterRaider

Carpe Diem et omni Mundio
Staff member
Super Moderator
Podcaster
Jan 19, 2006
18,917
1,827
350
San Diego, CA
frankly i've never even heard of the damn rule until it cost us two fumbles. They oughta count both as half fumbles.

But having said that we had two takeaways to one giveaway
 

TJBOLT

Well-Known Member
Jul 31, 2006
310
18
110
what is the diference betwen this sacks and the one in baltimore when mcnair was given a incomplete pas when he was going down
 

glutton4Bolts

BoltTalker
Aug 27, 2006
229
14
100
44
exodus said:
That stupid rule cost us 2 forced turnovers. Can someone please explain this stupid rule to me? If, for some reason, Ben managed to complete 2 passes while "in the grasp" do those count as incompletions? How are we supposed to force the qb to fumble while we're sacking him? This is bs. :icon_evil:
I was cursing the screen when the second one came down..... my family practically had to restrain me......
 

boltssbbound

Well-Known Member
Jun 16, 2006
7,003
735
350
43
How many times have we seen Big Ben appear to be in the grasp only to breakout and heave a deep ball downfield? The guy is very hard to bring down. The in the grasp rule is BS.
 

MtlBoltsFan

Jesse Ventura/Howard Stern 2016
Jun 27, 2006
9,262
301
340
17
I don't like the ref who was officiating last night he is a douchebag. In fact... I hate every single ref except for Ed Hochuli and Mike Brown... even if those guys don't call a perfect game you know they're going to do the best damn job they can. There's also this other ref whose name I don't know who is fair.
 

O'reilly

Well-Known Member
Aug 29, 2005
1,421
408
230
Yes...had Big Ben thrown downfield while in the grasp and completed it they wouldn't have called the in the grasp BS rule...that rule is there explicitly to allow the QB to throw the ball while being sacked...it is "win-win" for the QB...if he throws and completes it good...if he fumbles, it's in the grasp...:no:
 
  • Like
Reactions: WonderSlug

Thunderstruck

BoltTalker
Aug 16, 2006
1,938
268
240
48
Isn't it wierd how you see those dumb-ass calls against the huge bandwagon teams like the Squeelers? If the whistle didn't blow the play's not friggin over. And the fact that "in the grasp" is conveniently not challengable just made it all the more gay.

I'm sure if Ben had broken out of the pile and somehow completed a crazy pass, they would have called the play back because he was "in the grasp." :rolleyes2: :icon_mad:
 

exodus

Well-Known Member
Nov 4, 2005
1,282
118
200
glutton4Bolts said:
I was cursing the screen when the second one came down..... my family practically had to restrain me......
Yeah, I was super pissed. Still am. Thats the kind of crap that can cost a game. The D looked like they were going to kill the refs after they called that bs a second freaking time.:icon_evil:
 

Boltzzz

BoltTalker
Aug 16, 2006
355
99
120
60
very strange, in the grasp???? 1st time i have heard that call all year and i watch a lot of games. Not sure what they were thinking but didnt make sense to me. coming down for the Rams and Browns game, coming with a couple friends for the Rams game but coming alone to the Browns game, looking to hook up with some Boltz fans, let me know. Dave
 

rexy2006

Well-Known Member
Dec 17, 2005
10,218
1,794
350
San Diego
My Mom was all like" In the grass?There's grass EVERYWHERE!"
(It was very noisy where we were watching it.):icon_mrgreen:

Even after I spelled it out to her "G-R-A-S-P" I didnt know how to explain it to her. :no:

One of the gurus must know SOMETHING about this rule!:icon_evil:
 
  • Like
Reactions: exodus

Kitsune-udon

BoltTalker
Sep 17, 2006
153
3
90
41
rexy2006 said:
My Mom was all like" In the grass?There's grass EVERYWHERE!"
(It was very noisy where we were watching it.):icon_mrgreen:

Even after I spelled it out to her "G-R-A-S-P" I didnt know how to explain it to her. :no:

One of the gurus must know SOMETHING about this rule!:icon_evil:
it's an old rule from around the Coryell years and they changed it around 10 years ago..

in-the-grasp will be ruled only when the quarterback is in the grasp of an opponent, with another opponent bearing down on him. This protects the quarterback from an unnecessary hit by the second man while he is being held by the first man. The old rule killed the play when the quarterback was in the grasp of one player.
 

rexy2006

Well-Known Member
Dec 17, 2005
10,218
1,794
350
San Diego
Kitsune-udon said:
it's an old rule from around the Coryell years and they changed it around 10 years ago..
Thanks for posting the rule straight out of the book.

Another question brought up was why it can't be reviewed.
 

Kitsune-udon

BoltTalker
Sep 17, 2006
153
3
90
41
rexy2006 said:
I dont recall seeing its usage.

Is it used very often? Is using the rule twice in one game unusual?
1979 would be the year the rule was added, and from looking online it has been used before, but rarely.